Celebrating England

I am spending this St. George’s Day seated at my Union Flag-clad computer, listening to “Land of Hope and Glory” and “I Vow to Thee, My Country”, with a cup of English Breakfast tea at my side. Although I already completed one post today, I really feel compelled to make another one in the patriotic, celebratory spirit of St. George’s Day.

So here is a simple collection of photos I’ve taken on my trips to England- celebrating just some of what is wonderful about this beautiful and illustrious country.

Fields from Airplane

Picturesque English fields bathed in the morning sun, seen from the air

The London Eye

The London Eye, one of the most easily recognizable landmarks in the world

Tower Bridge

Famous Tower Bridge, on a sunny day

Twinings Shop

Twinings shop on the Strand- because what is more English than tea?

Pigeons

Pigeons live in locales other than just England, but in my mind, pigeons and England are forever linked

Foggy London Skyline

Foggy London skyline, with St. Paul’s just visible. England is beautiful even when it rains, and I hate rain; so that’s saying a lot!

Clapham Flats

Block of flats in Clapham where my dad was born- I am deeply proud of my English heritage

Silverstone Road Sign

England has an unparalleled motor racing history; attested to by the Silverstone Formula One circuit and the high concentration of F1 team headquarters in nearby Milton Keynes

Ironbridge War Memorial

The war memorial in Ironbridge. War memorials, military bases, and evidence of World War II fortifications are everywhere in England

Wall at Wroxeter

Ruined wall at Wroxeter Roman City- the amount of history that remains in England today is staggering

Little Moreton Hall

England is one of the best places to find architecture like this. Pictured is Little Moreton Hall in Cheshire, built largely in the 16th century

Hadrian's Wall

Hadrian’s Wall in Northumberland, built by the Romans almost two millennia ago

Northumberland Landscape

Aptly-named Northumberland, England’s northernmost county, has some of the most striking landscapes I’ve ever seen

The Green Dragon

The Green Dragon pub in Exelby, Yorkshire, where I had my first glorious taste of English beer

Ely Roof

Ceiling of Ely Cathedral- it’s incredible that in England, churches like this are still open for regular worship.

Happy St. George’s Day!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Celebrating England

Leave a Reply

