Royal Wedding Attire

Like millions of others across the planet, I was enthralled by the wedding of Kate Middleton to Prince William which occurred three years ago, on April 29, 2011. From the announcement of the engagement in November of the previous year to the big day itself, I followed news of the wedding’s preparations religiously and was incredibly excited about the whole thing. Such an important event offered me the opportunity for a party- I love organizing parties- so I spent a lot of time planning a lovely British-themed party for April 29. The party mainly consisted of food; after all, games would be a distraction to the momentous occasion that we would be witnessing on the telly! So we enjoyed scones, real Cornish clotted cream, strawberry jam, and a beautiful pot of steaming tea while watching the proceedings that were happening across the Atlantic in Westminster Abbey.We did have to get up quite early in order to watch the wedding live- I think I was up at 3 or 3:30 in the morning! And our surroundings were considerably less grand than the exquisitely decorated Westminster Abbey- we watched the wedding from our rather dark and dingy basement, which I had decorated with homemade Union flag bunting. But I would happily do it again, because the wedding and my experience of it were truly magical and special.Of course, I would have rather been at the Abbey myself, taking in this momentous occasion with the likes of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II- and so, I’ve created a Polyvore outfit to illustrate what I would have likely worn, had I been invited!Royal Wedding Attire
The importance of the event and the sanctity of the venue calls for modesty and elegance, two requisites which are fulfilled in the sophisticated Lanvin dress and structured camel coat. An intricate fascinator, pumps from Christian Louboutin, and a simple clutch pull the look together through the use of black, and pearl and gold jewellery adds a vintage feel. Sage green nail polish completes the ensemble while complementing the deep jewel tone of the dress. If only I had been at Westminster Abbey on April 29, 2011!
Leave a Reply

