Austenesque

Last week I did something I hadn’t done in over a decade– which is quite significant, since I’m only two decades old. In a real throwback to my childhood, I watched the 1995 TV adaption of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice! When I was very young, my family would begin watching the series and then more often than not would end up watching most of the six episodes in one go. I found Austen’s world enthralling back then, and this time round I felt exactly the same! I love the social etiquette and intricacy of the class system of the Regency and Georgian periods; and Austen’s clever observations and vivacious characters have always appealed to me as well. The fashions of this era weren’t too bad either– and they inspired my latest Polyvore creation.Austenesque

 

Austenesque by adairjacobs on Polyvore
An Austenesque outfit created on Polyvore is never going to be truly authentic, but at least I believe mine looks reasonably decent. An Empire waisted dress is a requisite, and this one is appropriate due to its intricate workmanship and pale colour. A bold bolero jacket adds drama (which I love when it comes to fashion), and this is tempered by the unobtrusive pumps and gorgeous gemstone jewellery. Nude nail polish and a dove grey clutch finish this lovely look which alludes to an era without overdoing it.
Leave a Reply

