Roads to Moscow

Winter is coming, and that’s always an ominous feeling for me. But it must have been even more ominous to the Soviet nation 74 years ago– because 74 years ago, not only was the harsh Russian winter approaching, but so was the mighty Wehrmacht; threatening the gates of Moscow and all that the Soviet people had achieved and held dear. With this post, I wanted to mark the Battle of Moscow because it was such a pivotal part of World War II. With the Battle of Moscow, the Soviet Red Army was able to dig deep and hold off the Germans from the all-important capital city– and they did all this through atrocious conditions and almost impossible odds.Roads to Moscow

 

This outfit is meant to be broadly representative of the female Red Army soldier; and there were many of these soldiers throughout the Great Patriotic War. During the Battle of Moscow women made a great contribution, both in combat and also in preparing antitank defenses and the like around Moscow. Although I added some jewellery to this ensemble, female soldiers often wore exactly the same uniforms as their male counterparts. Skirts were sometimes issued, but didn’t seem to have been guaranteed. The women of the Red Army were just as brave and just as effective as the men were, and they had to cope with the same meagre equipment and poor organization as well. I have always admired that. On a side note, this post is titled after one of my very favourite songs– Roads to Moscow by Al Stewart. It’s a beautiful song about the Great Patriotic War and it tells a very powerful story, and I’d encourage you to take the time to listen to it in its entirety! The Battle of Moscow was a true trial for the Red Army and the Soviet Union as a whole, but it became one of their greatest triumphs as well, and it deserves to be remembered.
9 thoughts on “Roads to Moscow

  1. I’ve often said “you were born in the wrong era” and this proves it once again. Nice outfit and great write-up to describe it. Thanks Adair!

    • I know that troops were issued winter uniforms, however the distribution of supplies in the Red Army (especially in 1941/42) could never be relied upon. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were a few shivering women in skirts in the early winter of ’41. I’m glad you appreciated the outfit, and thanks for your comment!

  2. You are one of the very, very few people whom I will read at a moment’s notice. How did you get so many writing bones in your body — special store in heaven for outfitting literary newborns?

    • Thank you so much, you’re so kind! Even though I’m young, I’ve had lots of practice writing– my Nana is very writerly and she’s encouraged and taught me since I was six or seven. And I find it easy to write since it’s something I enjoy so thoroughly. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

