It’s Springtime, Somewhere…

The unfortunate souls of southern Ontario, of which I am one, are currently enjoying their third bout of winter in about two months; and by “enjoying” of course I mean “suffering”. Unless one lives in Antarctica, I don’t believe one should have to contend with snowstorms, ice on windscreens, and slippery roads in April. And yet here we are! A couple weeks ago spring seemed to be here, but that was short-lived and now it’s depressingly cold and white again. I’ll have to content myself with thoughts of springtime in England– a year ago I was there, but how very far away it seems now! I hope you enjoy this collection of photos from that lovely springtime holiday. I don’t know when spring is coming, but I am sure that it’s getting closer every day!

London 2015 Adair 077

Lush green grass outside the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich

London 2015 Adair 315

St. James’s Park looks beautiful in the springtime, with crops of daffodils alongside the water and all kinds of geese and ducks wandering around

London 2015 Adair 341

Flowers like these never die, regardless of the season

London 2015 Adair 435

A stately home is made even more lovely with roses out front

London 2015 Adair 528

Plants thrive in the leafy environs of Highgate Cemetery

London 2015 Adair 1006

Tulips and crocuses (I think) are a classic springtime mix at the Geffrye Museum

London 2015 Adair 1163

Kensington Palace has breathtaking grounds which can be enjoyed by everyone. England is such a marvellous place!!

3 thoughts on “It’s Springtime, Somewhere…

  1. I second that, Britain really is a great place especially in the spring time. We’ve not had snow at all this year, and the winter has been so mild we’ve had flowers out pretty much since January!

    • Lucky you! I’m quite envious, really wish I were back in England again. Most people I know go to Florida or Mexico during wintertime, but I’d much prefer the UK!! And I almost forget what flowers look like… I hope our weather will go England’s way before too long! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

