Some Throwback Poetry: Pt. 2

One of the things I love about literature and film is that they have the awesome power to inspire. Books I read as a child have stayed with me even as I am now an adult; and when I recall notable scenes from movies watched long ago, they still have an effect on me. There is one such scene from the 2001 film The Fellowship of the Ring which, for me, has undeniable effect. It takes place in the Mines of Moria, when Pippin– being Pippin– knocks a bucket down a mine shaft, causing an immense racket. Once the crashing of the bucket against the walls stops, the fellowship (already feeling uneasy) stands in silence for a moment; and the viewer is led to believe that perhaps the mine is truly abandoned after all. Then the viewer and the fellowship hear the screeching of Orcs and the banging of drums from below; making for a tense and terrifying scene.

It was this scene of great tension that inspired me, as a fanciful preteen, to write the following poem. It’s perhaps simple and repetitive, but when I was young I thought this was one of my coolest poems! I always loved the allure of fairy tales and similar stories, and the world of Middle Earth was the best of them all. I hope you enjoy it, and that it carries some of the effect of the scene it was inspired by!

Rock and Fire Beneath the Moor

In the dark of halls of steel,

Rock and fire beneath the moor

Though rock and fire themselves revealed

The sound of drums beneath the floor.

The Dwarves hoped t’would not come true,

But their fear became reality

For when Orcs come, they never go

But, the Dwarves could never flee.

In the dark of halls of steel,

Rock and fire beneath the moor

The Orcs’ large siege was real

Announced by drums beneath the floor.

In the dark of halls of steel,

Rock and fire beneath the moor

Though rock and fire themselves revealed

The sound of drums beneath the floor.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

