Kokomo

Summer is here, and it’s time to share a beach outfit! But first, a disclaimer: I am not much of a beach person. I dislike being wet and sandy, swimming bores me quickly, and beaches inevitably mean nasty sunburns for someone as pasty as me. That said, I do love beach fashion; and I wish that I could enjoy the beach more than I do!Kokomo

 

Kokomo by adairjacobs on Polyvore
Of course, I think the best beach fashion is inspired by the ’40s. ’40s beach fashion was more modest than today’s (which I greatly admire), but it was still alluring and very beautiful. This ensemble uses a classic shirred halterneck swimsuit in a gorgeous shade of red, which amps up the tan shorts and woven straw accessories. Tortoiseshell sunglasses are very appropriate for the era, and the leather sandals are another authentic choice. Whenever I go to the beach, I still wear jewellery- mainly because I avoid swimming anyway- and it adds a polish to an outfit that nothing else can. A tropical print scarf in a bracing shade of yellow adds a final surprise to this look. I may not be a beach person, but if I had an outfit like this to wear then you might just find me at the beach!!
Leave a Reply

