Celebration Wear

In September of this year, I fulfilled a long-held wish; and attended my first wedding! One of my older cousins was getting married, and I was delighted to be attending her wedding. There had never been any family or friends’ weddings for me to attend before, and ever since I was a preteen I’d always wanted to be invited to one of these momentous and celebratory occasions. My cousin’s wedding was really special and emotional for me. Perhaps it affected me so much because it was the first wedding I’d been to, but I was really struck by the significance of the proceedings and the love and happiness I could see between my cousin and her new husband. That, and the circumstances of my own life, meant that I was in happy and conflicted tears by the time the dancing began. Anyway, although my face got red and puffy, at least I had put a lot of thought into what I was wearing!Celebration Wear

 

Part of why I so wanted to go to a wedding was because it was a chance to dress up. Usually when I dress up it’s to go to the movies or church, and nobody else generally takes those opportunities in the way I do. It was exciting to be going somewhere that I knew everyone was going to be looking fancy. The above is a representation of my wedding outfit. I had an emerald dress with a tulip skirt, and floral gold jewellery which really popped against the green. My makeup and nail polish were in a vintage rose colour, and I stuck with classic black for my shoes and handbag. I felt great in my outfit, but what I will remember most are the emotions of the night. It was truly a beautiful evening, and I am really grateful that I was invited to be a part of it. To my cousin and her husband, you had a wonderful wedding, and I hope that your life together will be many times as wonderful!
Leave a Reply

