The Voguish Adventurer

When I was little, one of my dreams was to be an explorer like David Livingstone or Ernest Shackleton. The world seems very big and strange to a child, and I wanted the excitement of travelling and discovering new places and people. As a child, I thought that there were still islands and continents to discover; and that I could buy an old wooden ship and maybe a flying boat and find them all. Needless to say, that was a very antiquated, romanticised view! I’m much more informed nowadays, but I still love the intrigue of the days when the world was more unknown. Stories such as Howard Carter finding Tutankhamen’s tomb, Franklin’s doomed expedition in northern Canada, and even fictional ones like Indiana Jones captivate me.The Voguish Adventurer

 


I watched the 1999 film The Mummy last week, and although it hasn’t got the most realistic plot, I enjoyed it for what it was. Its theme of ancient Egypt and era of the 1920s inspired me to create this outfit; albeit a 1940s one! The Chanel shirt is smart yet relaxed, and combines well with the practical teal trousers and safari jacket. An alligator handbag and black pumps are ladylike but still sensible. The jewellery, with its pink gemstones, livens up the pastel tones of the Valentino scarf; and this is all topped off with a shot of red nail polish. I can easily imagine a well-heeled 1940s adventurer exploring the ruins of Egypt in this outfit!
Leave a Reply

