The Soldier that Endured: A Poem

It’s terrible to think that I’ve had such a hiatus from blogging here! I do apologise to all my followers, and thank you all for sticking with me. The past few months have been consumed by endless work, but honestly I’m not complaining– I’ve found a job which I really love, which is bettered by awesome people who keep me laughing and enrich my life, and which teaches me every single day.

But enough about that– on to this long overdue post! This poem is written in the context of (guess when…) World War II; but it was inspired by the struggles of life which I’ve observed in both myself and in friends of mine. It speaks to the stoicism of the human spirit, and in doing so I think it preaches a message of hope– that even when things are full of despair, we still find a way to carry on and reach something better. I hope you enjoy it.

The Soldier that Endured

Walking on the Tula road

A weary figure passed me by

Her steps were slow, but still they showed

The burning of her pride.

Her rifle held in one hand,

The other hand fell low

Crimson and scarred, Red as our Star

Which endures from long ago.

I watched her labour on at length

Her back hunched and tired

Weak but still bearing agony with strength,

A strength to be admired.

Her face was young, yet bore pain

Of years it had not seen

Its naivety had waxed and waned, but grit remained

In all the hours between.

As she passed, I spoke to her

And asked how she prevailed

The blood and gore that mauled and tore

Our hearts until we failed–

With startling eyes she said,

“There were hours I could not survive

And all through my head I believed I was dead

Until I breathed and was alive.”

Then she was gone, that soldier brave

And I pondered quietly

After all the battles through which I slaved,

Perhaps that soldier was me.

5 thoughts on “The Soldier that Endured: A Poem

  1. I love the line “I believed I was dead until I breathed and was alive”
    This poem was worth the wait. Really touching.

Leave a Reply

