, ,

Dawn, June 22nd

A simple imagining of a Soviet soldier on the morning of June 22, 1941.

Dawn— but it is no morning.

The fog clears, split by bullets in place of sunshine.

I fight, but my blood is worth nothing-

Just like the orders which come now, too late.

I fade- into the fog slow returning

While my comrades still sleep in expanses east

If I could only warn them what is coming-

But hopeless too, they share my fate.

Text © 2024 Adair E. R. Jacobs

Image public domain, taken by Johannes Hähle in 1941 and obtained via https://albumwar2.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/06017.jpg

Responses to “Dawn, June 22nd”

  1. Colleen

    It is so good to read your poetry again.

    You are able to convey so much feeling in so few words. I love the imagery of the bullets clearing the fog. By comparing them to sunshine you add to the regrettable scene by making one think that had the sun come out a little sooner, the outcome would have been completely different.

    Nicely done, Adair.

  2. Allen

    It was a bad day.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.